5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Motor mount replacement.....oh fudge.

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 11:54 AM

Motor mount replacement.....oh fudge.

Alright I work as a salesman at Kendrick Nissan in Lafayette, Indiana. My 2002 Maxima SE 6spd has 127,000 miles on it and it has had a bad grinding/growling noise at low RPM's, mainly idle and 1st and 2nd gear where the engine needs to withstand the highest amounts of torque. I let my friend who is a Nissan Certified Technician, here at Kendrick, look at it and found out one of the engine mounts has worn down and gone bad. It was causing the engine to sink low and vibrate against the heat shield. He diagnosed it for free but I'm not exactly sure which motor mount it is. I will be getting back about the exact specifications on the repair but it doesn't seem to be cheap. I'll be asking about any information you guys can help me with. I'm pretty mechanically inclined but I do not have access to a lift. I think I'm just going to pay my friend to do the work but I'm really low on cash considering I'm a college student. I have put a lot into this car already since my dad gave it to me at 120,000 so I want to keep it till around 200,000. I will also start posting all of the Maxima's we currently have on the lot in my signature.
Old 07-07-2010, 12:29 PM

Alright so it turned out to be the front right engine mount part # 11210-2Y00E and 11220 on the Nissan Engine Mount Diagram. Because of my employee connection, my friend the tech will do it for $207.48 including the part. I think I'm just going to go ahead and do it. I just thought I would post this in case anybody else had the same noise.
Old 07-07-2010, 12:59 PM

Originally Posted by mjhuffer