5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

02 Maxima vs GTP Comparison

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2001, 09:34 AM
kra
Newbie - Just Registered

02 Maxima vs GTP Comparison

I have been driving a GTP for the last 3 years. I just picked up my 02 6spd Max the other day. Here are my impresssions of both.

First, the Max is light years ahead of the GTP in build quality, refinement and rigidity. It tracks straight and true. When driving the GTP, you had to pay close attention to the road as it would tend to drift.

The 6spd is very smooth. I do not find it notchy or rubbery at all. The clutch is not too heavy or too light. Gear ratios are well placed. The car has enough torque to pull even when lugged in the wrong gear.

Likes and dislikes

1. The Max just oozes quality.

2. Rides quality is fabulous compared with the GTP.

3. I miss the exhaust note of the GTP. It was almost sinister is sound. The Max is just too quiet. You can barely hear anything from the engine or exhaust.

4. I prefered the back of the GTP over the Max. Dual Exhausts make a car look more aggressive.

5. I miss the gauges and illumination of all controls of the GTP. The Max needs more legible gauges and lights for steering wheel controls.

6. The Bose in Max is better than the Bose in the GTP. But the annoying buzz from the parcel shelf needs to be fixed. The head unit in the GTP was better in that it had controls for all the functions on seperate buttons versus the one button does multiple things on the Max head unit.

7. Handling is better in the Max, but the turning radius is way better in the GTP.

I won't go into acceleration because I haven't had the chance to let loose with the Max yet. I suspect that the GTP had more punch off the line, but the Max has a much broader power band.