5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Question about fuel pressure regulators

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2001, 11:25 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Question about fuel pressure regulators

Hi,

I've read on the 4th gens, if you want to hook up a gauge to read pressure, all you have to do is tap into the line on the fuel filter. But since our car's is located in-tank, where would I tap into? I see two FPRs, I assume one is for the line in and one is for the return, can anyone explain why that is (i.e. 4-cylinder cars only have one)? So, if I want to switch to an adjustable FPR, I assume I would have to replace both. I'm asking all this because my car is knocking, and the dealer has already replace the coils. So, I think my car might be running too lean sometimes? I was a diesel mechanic in the Army and I have no idea how these engine work :-P Thanks in advance!

Johnny
Old 12-27-2001, 12:01 PM
Got Bent?

do you have any mods? your engine should not be pinging... have you tried switching to a different brand of gas?
Old 12-27-2001, 12:45 PM

Originally posted by UMD_MaxSE
do you have any mods? your engine should not be pinging... have you tried switching to a different brand of gas?
No mods, tried different brands of gas, all 91 octane. The car really started detonating after I put in a bottle of chevron injector cleaners. It's been knocking more ever since :-( And it can start doing it whenever it wants to. I can be coming off the freeway offramp with no stress on the engine and it knocks. I can be going up a hill sometimes and it doesn't knock. Its some weird ****. My 96 SE did this also.... I'm just very unlucky when it comes to buying cars. This car had the engine light come on the night I bought it :-|
Old 12-27-2001, 12:50 PM
Administrator