5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Car shuttering/stumbling/hesitating under load

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2012, 12:33 PM
I can has?

Car shuttering/stumbling/hesitating under load

Hey guys. I just picked up a 2003 SE TE 6-spd for a song. I've been on the forum for a while now and though I'm not new to Maximas, I am new to the VQ35.

I've had the car about two weeks and it's ran flawlessly. Then, one evening coming home from work cruising at about 50mph in 6th, I had to slow down because a car in front of me was turning off, slowed down to about 35, tried to resume light acceleration in 6th and the whole car started lurching.

I've read and searched my *** off (See Dfj240's 'Bogging under Load') thread. And nothing is quite like how my car is acting.

It idles and revs perfectly in neutral, or even coasting with the clutch in. But anything more than 1/2 throttle (maybe even a little bit less) the car starts to act up and struggles very much pulling. It is even more pronounced if I am cruising in a high gear (4th-6th), any bit of throttle past 1/5 or so will cause the whole car to stumble along- however VERY light throttle the car does ok.

Before it started acting up though... I did notice a very dramatic "vias kick"... or at least what I thought was a vias kick. Where under half throttle or so (when possibly the pedal position sensor sent more voltage) the car would start hauling ***... which was great... but the 'kick' was SO dramatic. Like it was almost hard to accelerate briskly without it being annoying and acting like a WOT dump at a certain pedal position.

To my knowledge all the coils and MAF are original, (the Car has 136k miles) But wouldn't any one of those things cause a CEL, or even some problems at idle, or when revving?