5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Brake Master Cylinder Ran Dry

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2013, 08:15 AM

Brake Master Cylinder Ran Dry

I was replacing calipers and being a noob, I didn't know I wasn't supposed to let the master cylinder run dry.
I guess now I have to do the master cylinder bleeding instructions in the master cylinder installation section in the FSM.
Is there an easier method of getting air out of master cylinder?
Old 07-18-2013, 08:54 AM

Not really. You have to bleed the system. What method you use to bleed it will determine if it is a pita or not.

A power bleeder and a gallon of brake fluid is the easiest, but the average Saturday mechanic doesn't have one. You can take the car to a shop (assuming it has enough brakes to drive) and have them do it or you will have to do the old, tried and true "pump the brake pedal" thing. Get the bleeder tool that attaches to the wheel cylinder and have plenty of brake fluid handy.
Old 07-18-2013, 10:02 AM

Originally Posted by DennisMik
Not really. You have to bleed the system. What method you use to bleed it will determine if it is a pita or not.

A power bleeder and a gallon of brake fluid is the easiest, but the average Saturday mechanic doesn't have one. You can take the car to a shop (assuming it has enough brakes to drive) and have them do it or you will have to do the old, tried and true "pump the brake pedal" thing. Get the bleeder tool that attaches to the wheel cylinder and have plenty of brake fluid handy.
so I don't have to do that, take off metal brake lines from master cylinder, cover up holes with fingers then pump brake pedal thing in the FSM? even though I ran M/C dry? All I need to do is bleed it real well?

I emptied fluid from both rear caliper hoses, so the car probably can't be driven at all.

I have this but I'm assuming it's not gonna fly in this situation.