5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Maxima won't idle

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2014, 12:52 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Maxima won't idle

Working on a car for a friend. He has a 2001 Maxima SE which he bought used, and while it's generally a good car, it won't idle. As soon as he takes his foot off the gas pedal it revs down and stops. Otherwise the engine runs smooth, doesn't blow any smoke or run rough. He's been driving it around for some time by keeping the revs up. He took it in to the Nissan dealer and they said something was wrong with the throttle body, but not being a mecahanic, he can't remember just what it was. They quoted hiim $1,800 to fix it, which is what he paid for the car, so I can understand his reluctance to pay it. Can anyone suggest an approach to troubleshooting this problem? I'm not experienced with Nissan products and am not sure where to start with this one.

Thanks
Old 06-21-2014, 01:21 PM

Sorry to hear this man. Sounds like a bad IACV (idle air control valve) and those are also known to fry the ECU mosfet chip when they go bad and not replaced in time.

That said, if it was just a bad IACV the quote wouldn't be nowhere near $1800 or even close to a thousand. So with this quote your friend got, I'm assuming the ECU got fried by the bad IACV.

It can be possible to solder in a new mosfet chip, if the ECU is still in good shape otherwise. Doing that can be done for cheap, and then get a new IACV. If the ECU isn't salvageable, then I'm afraid you're screwed.

But wait, DONT PAY DEALERSHIP PRICES. Even if the ECU is done for, you guys can go to a junkyard and pull one from a 5th gen Maxima. Same for the IACV really, although considering those things like to stick I'd prefer a brand new IACV.
Old 06-21-2014, 03:19 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

ECU...is that the same as the ECM (Electronic Control Module)?
Old 06-21-2014, 05:40 PM