5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

My 2K1 developing tranny problems, bad one too

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2002, 07:22 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

My 2K1 developing tranny problems, bad one too

I told Nauman a couple weeks ago that when the car is cold and I get into it in the morning and turn it on and when I put the car in Drive or Reverse, and HOLD the brake down, I hear this knocking noise coming from the engine, but if I change it to Neutral, the knocking stops, that is why I know it is the tranny making the knocking noise. It only makes this when the car is cold by the way, once it is warmed up, the tranny knock stops.

Now check this, last night going to CHEVY'S Mexican Restaurant, I was parking my car and when I put it in Reverse, I hear this enormously loud CLANK! and the car jerks back. So I thought, maybe this happened just this once. So once I parked it, I started playing with it in the sense moved it from Park to Reverse, and back to park and then back to reverse, (Yes I waited like 5secs before shifting) and it CLANKED everytime.

Now I gotta feeling this tranny is getting ready to die. Or something is majorly wrong. I still get the knocking noise in the tranny this morning, but also noticing it gets more and more into when the car is warm now too. I was 15miles into my drive and I stopped at a light, and turned the radio off, and there it was again, the damn knocking noise. This tranny is definetely looking to die.

What yall think?

Dixit
Old 01-28-2002, 07:26 AM
Rice Boy in Denial =)

Are you sure your exhaust isn't hitting something?
Old 01-28-2002, 08:18 AM

Originally posted by Y2KevSE
Are you sure your exhaust isn't hitting something?
You know that is a good point, but the only modification I have done is the testpipe, and the custom muffler that was welded on right at the end of the muffler pipe.