5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Rims.......

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2002, 10:36 PM

Rims.......

I am pretty new to all this mod stuff. I have a 2000 SE and want to get me some new wheels. After looking thru tons of styles and sizes I've come to a conclusion that I want 18" rims and I am trying to decide between these styles:

-Mille Miglia Evo5
-Konig Tantrums
-Enkei RS-6 or CDR-9

The cheapest I've seen them shopping around are approx $1400 with a tire package, they are all pretty much the same price.
Now my question is, is one of them better than the other?? Which one should I go with?? I like them all, but the Evo5 a little better.
Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Old 05-05-2002, 10:40 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Well if you want to be serious about modding, weight is a good factory later on. You dont want 18s that are too heavy, otherwise it will slow you down and make your car feel sluggish.

Also just cause it is lightweight dont mean it is strong, some lightweight wheels bend very easily. I suggest going with a strong lightweight wheel.

Dixit
Old 05-05-2002, 10:43 PM

Hey BigDog

So out of the ones I listed, which one do you think would be good as far as weight and strenght. I am sorry but I don't know much about brands and quality.
Old 05-05-2002, 10:49 PM

Enkei RS-6 Cast 18x7 23.3 lbs
Konig Tantrum Cast 18x7.5 23.2 lbs
Konig Tantrum Cast 18x8 24.9 lbs
Mille Miglia Evo Cast 18x8 27.0 lbs

Now I would go with the Enkie's because they are VERY high end performance wheels. Been around for awhile and I have had two sets and their aluminum grade is very high in strength.

Dixit
Old 05-05-2002, 11:16 PM

Would the weight difference between the lightest and the heaviest make a big diff. as far as performance??
Sucks that the ones that I liked the most are the heaviest ones
Old 05-06-2002, 03:04 AM

Re: Rims.......

Originally posted by armando8a