5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Don's VB Mod, do it yourself?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2002, 09:01 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Don's VB Mod, do it yourself?

To everyone with Don's valvebody recalibration mod, did you remove and reinstall the valvebody yourself, or did you pay to have that part done?

I'm no mechanic (took 3 hours to install the Frankencar intake ), and I'm really worried about messing up the transmission on my car by trying to do this myself. I've been thinking about checking with a local repair shop to have them remove and reinstall it, but I'm not sure how much it'll cost. If you're a complete non-mechanic like me and have done this mod yourself, please let me know how it went.

Thanks,
Old 05-14-2002, 09:42 PM

I paid for install and everything.
Old 05-14-2002, 10:50 PM
Very sound, Mike

Yep. Tan, you're in Houston... get the man himself to do the labor
Old 05-14-2002, 10:55 PM
Jer

Re: Don's VB Mod, do it yourself?

I just wish I knew what was happening with my VB right now 3 business days.. still no replies back...

Originally posted by Tanmann9
To everyone with Don's valvebody recalibration mod, did you remove and reinstall the valvebody yourself, or did you pay to have that part done?

I'm no mechanic (took 3 hours to install the Frankencar intake ), and I'm really worried about messing up the transmission on my car by trying to do this myself. I've been thinking about checking with a local repair shop to have them remove and reinstall it, but I'm not sure how much it'll cost. If you're a complete non-mechanic like me and have done this mod yourself, please let me know how it went.

Thanks,
Old 05-15-2002, 04:52 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Re: Re: Don's VB Mod, do it yourself?

Originally posted by Jer
I just wish I knew what was happening with my VB right now 3 business days.. still no replies back...