5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

Intake choices?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2002, 06:08 PM

Intake choices?

I've been wanting to purchase an intake for my 2k2 max and need some input. Cold air is always good but do they out perform other intakes. I know this was probably posted some time before but who has had some good results from Using CAI. How about the cutting of the whole. I'm new to this so plz inform me!
Old 06-14-2002, 06:24 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Re: Intake choices?

Originally posted by Chaser
I've been wanting to purchase an intake for my 2k2 max and need some input. Cold air is always good but do they out perform other intakes. I know this was probably posted some time before but who has had some good results from Using CAI. How about the cutting of the whole. I'm new to this so plz inform me!
Let's cut to the chase. Unless you want to say goodbye to your warranty if your MAF sensor decides to take a dump, DO NOT CUT A HOLE IN YOUR FENDER! If you want to install a CAI, purchase an Injen. If you want to install an HAI, buy a Berk Tuning for all of $55.00 or a Frankencar if you want an intake with a mid-pipe. You can't go wrong with either one.

There are a million threads on the subject of intakes. Regardless of how much we share with you here, you will be slighting yourself if you don't use the search function and learn all you can before you make a purchase decision.

Good luck!
Old 06-14-2002, 08:15 PM

Re: Re: Intake choices?

Originally posted by y2kse

Let's cut to the chase. Unless you want to say goodbye to your warranty if your MAF sensor decides to take a dump, DO NOT CUT A HOLE IN YOUR FENDER! If you want to install a CAI, purchase an Injen. If you want to install an HAI, buy a Berk Tuning for all of $55.00 or a Frankencar if you want an intake with a mid-pipe. You can't go wrong with either one.