6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

Heater problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2005, 12:34 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Heater problems

Just wondering if anyone else on this forum has experienced problems with their heater.
My car only blows cold air even after idling for over 30 minutes, although if you drive it for a short distance it begins to warm up somewhat.
The needle on the temp. gauge is in the middle, so the engine is plenty warm.
The thermostat doesn't seem to be sticking, as the rad and hoses are all warm as well. Had the coolant checked and it's good to -65 F.
Couldn't come at a worse time, as yesterday it was -52 F here. "Warmed" up to -42 today though.
Any ideas? ( Besides moving to Florida )
Old 01-14-2005, 12:40 PM

sounds like a heater core issue. but i'm no mechanic, so i'll let the more experienced guys chime in.
Old 01-14-2005, 12:47 PM

Sounds to me like it's just too d@mn cold out.

I'd head to the dealer and have everything checked out.
Old 01-14-2005, 12:55 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Yeah, it's definitely too cold!
I did take it to the dealer this morning, and they've never had this problem before.
It's still there, so hopefully they can fix it. All that electronic crap! I miss the old heater controls that simply had cables. At least you could find the problem quickly.
Old 01-14-2005, 01:09 PM

This is not related to your problem but I'm curious to know if your info screen is working at that temperature? Mine just gives up or is very slow when it's very cold.
Old 01-14-2005, 01:17 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

The screen IS very slow to register and faint at these temperatures. However when the heater worked, it was back to normal in about 5 minutes. I didn't find it to be faint and slow until about -25 C. By the way, the info screen only registers to - 30 C.
Old 01-14-2005, 01:20 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by fredk