6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

Option packages annoy me!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2005, 01:22 AM

Option packages annoy me!!!

Even though I'm a salesman myself, option packages annoy me. They really force people into overspending, which I think makes for an unpleasant buying experience.

I don't own the 6th gen, but do own a 2001 SE. I test drove the 2005 today, and for my money the Drivers Preferred Package is not worth it. Someone else hit the nail on the head regarding the autodimming side mirrors. If you have tint, that feature isn't necessary.

IMO, most people should stick to these 3 packages with the 2005 Maxima.

1) buy the base model w/out leather and save the dough
2) buy the sensory package with the leather & bose
3) get the Elite Package with the every option available except the NAV system.

The Drivers preferred package is $1300 more than the Sensory package, and all you get is a rear lip spoiler, HID, power tilt/telescope w/memory, 2-driver memory seats (AT only), power outside mirrors/folding/dimming, heating steering wheel, and power adjustable lumbar. That sounds like a lot of features, but think about it. Power lumbar? Heated steering wheel? Power tilt/telescope wheel? Have we become so lazy that we cant use a manual tilt/telescope or lumbar? The memory seating is kind of cool, but not for $1300. That feature should be a stand-alone option. Those crooks!