6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

Bad transmission? heres what I have noticed

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2008, 07:19 PM

Bad transmission? heres what I have noticed

Ok guys some of you know me from 6thgen. Many of you do not.

My names Chris and I work as a service manager for a Nissan dealer in Gaithersburg, MD. We are a high volume dealer and have a significant amount of Maximas we service.

anyhow...

Some of you may have read/ranted and maybe even experienced transmission problems on your 6th gen Maxima. This is especially if you have the 04 with the 4spd trans.

This is what I have been noticing. over the past year and a half.

We have replaced 17 transmissions in that time span.

80% of the transmissions are on the 04.

Just about 60% of the transmissions that I have put in over the past year have had one or more broken motor mounts.

80% of the transmissions were not properly taken care of. ie. transmission fluid changed at MAXIMUM of 60k (this should be every 30k in my book).

So in short I think it may be time for us all to inspect the motor mounts on our cars (especially the front).

As much as you hate your dealer get your trans fluid every 30k with the CORRECT fluid. If you want to use fluid other than Nissan you may use the following:

Compatible Synthetic ATF fluids

Royal Purple- Max ATF
Red Line Oil- D4 ATF, High-Temp ATF
AMSOIL- Synthetic ATF
Mobil1- Synthetic ATF

If anyone needs warranty help or mechanical help feel free to PM me anytime!
Old 08-07-2008, 07:29 PM

funny you brought this up, im having problems with the black max , it seems like I need to replace the tranny, from what I hear they are not repairable. questions can you hook it up , one more, how hard would it be to put a 5sp into this car 2005 sl with vdc.
Old 08-07-2008, 09:44 PM