6th Generation Maxima (2004-2008) Discussion of the 6th generation Maxima. Come see what others are saying.

timing marks

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2010, 11:11 PM

timing marks

Hello all, doing the dreaded tensioner fix on my own. I have the timing cover off and am trying to figure out the timing marks. Do you just continue to turn the crank until they line up? Is there an easier way to do it? Also the newer timing chain and cam chains come with colored links in them. The cam chains have three bronze looking links. Two on one side and one on the other side of the chain. the timing chan has two bronze links and a bluish link in them. I assume these are for timing....but how does this all line up. I'm a pretty competent mechanic just need to know the in's and the hanyes book I have is Sh17! Googled to the end of the earth and a lot of people have talked about this problem but I'm surprised there is no writeup about it. So if someone has completed this repair please resopond to this thread. I'm taking step by step pics as well.
thanks
Old 11-21-2010, 01:34 AM

Follow the procedure listed in this manual. It is for Altima, but there is a procedure for the VQ35 engine, which the maxima has.
http://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/Altima/2006/em.pdf
Old 11-21-2010, 10:07 AM

ThanKS

I appreciate the manual, I was just looking for any tricks or secrets. I've searched a lot on this issue and have only found a few posts where somone has tried it or a forum member who is a nissan tech slightly described how to do it.
So basically I align it at TDC then mark em and change em correct? I've seen several posts where you are told that you don;t have to take the intake off or the rocker covers....but that may see like a necessity? Any answers on this? Wish I could have just paid a shop to do this but way out of warranty and no money. Thanks
Old 11-21-2010, 04:13 PM

Anything?