7th Generation Maxima (2009-2015) Come in and talk about the 7th generation Maxima

Colored Screen for 2013 Maxima

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2015, 08:01 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Colored Screen for 2013 Maxima

Hey guys, I just bought a 2013 Maxima but it doesn't have the nav package. I was looking on ebay and i see that people are selling the display screen with navigation. My question is that can i get the display screen on ebay and just replace the regular orange one I have. would that work? I'm new to this so I want to make sure before I do anything. I just don't like the orange screen I have now and want to put something nicer in.
Old 03-10-2015, 08:24 PM

Navigation itself is built deep into the car. You won't get that by swapping a screen. Also, the controls are different for those with the amber display and those with the full color display, which means there are also differences in wiring.

I think some people have come up with workarounds to retrofit a color display, but I know it's not easy. And the navigation is a definite no-go.
Old 03-10-2015, 09:24 PM

You're better off installing a tablet of some sort. Our OEM color screen is really pointless.
Old 03-11-2015, 05:19 AM

theres a few posts on this, i always put in my 2 cents on the mod I did being i felt the same as you, 2013 with orange screen and I wanted it more modern so I installed nexus 7 tablet and moved the HVAC controls into my glove box in front of the passenger seat

Old 03-11-2015, 08:28 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

I think what brichi did to his ride is the way to go in your situation.

Nicely done brichi!
Old 03-18-2015, 01:05 PM

Originally Posted by brichi
theres a few posts on this, i always put in my 2 cents on the mod I did being i felt the same as you, 2013 with orange screen and I wanted it more modern so I installed nexus 7 tablet and moved the HVAC controls into my glove box in front of the passenger seat