All Motor All Motor Advanced Performance. Talk about Engine Swaps, Internal Engine work. Not your basic Y pipe and Intake Information.

5.7 gen datalogging wideband

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2017, 09:28 PM

5.7 gen datalogging wideband

I am working on my 5.7 motor swap and am looking at wideband options for when I do more bolt-ons. I don't intend to use a piggyback (ECU reflash instead) so I am investigating my options. I have read quite a bit and I understand the principles behind tubing but I'm not experienced. I need to be able to log; RPM, AFR, timing advance. I think it would also be beneficial to be able to see injector duty, MAF, IAT, TPS, load, VSS, APP and maybe cam timing.

At the top of my list are:

AEM X-Series OBDII with Android app. $225 single

Zeitronixs ZT-2 with nDash (also OBDII). $799 single

iDash by 14point7. Cheapest 2 bank option but data logging looks cumbersome and would require splicing. $299 ($399 dual)

Wondering what others think. At this point I don't intend to permanently install a gauge anywhere in the car so aesthetics aren't really a consideration. My only other concern is I am not sure which PIDs the 5.5 ECU supports, I guess I should throw a battery in the car (no motor ATM) and find out.

Edited with prices and more specific Zeitronix option. It looks like AEM is a winner at this point.

Last edited by freezer; 05-27-2017 at 11:20 AM.
Old 06-08-2017, 09:04 PM

Someone correct me if I am wrong....

NissanDataScanII - About $60 If I remember correctly
Innovate LC-2 wideband - $155
USB to serial adapter for LC-2 to NDSII - $12 (One with FTDI chip)
Cheap OBDII to USB cable - $10 (If you are reflashing the ECU yourself then you already have this)

You can log everything to NDSII on a laptop and not have to bother with the wideband gauge if you wish. Might not be what you're looking for, but its another option.

Last edited by T00Lbox; 06-08-2017 at 09:25 PM.
Old 06-14-2017, 09:18 PM

Originally Posted by T00Lbox