All Motor All Motor Advanced Performance. Talk about Engine Swaps, Internal Engine work. Not your basic Y pipe and Intake Information.

3.0 Timing to 3.5 VCT

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2018, 12:15 AM

3.0 Timing to 3.5 VCT

I've got a 96 Nistune ECU and Nistune does have VCT built in, im gonna assume I'll have to swap in a 5.5gen ECU? The VCT solenoid and all the other 5.5gen timing equipment and remove the cam spacers. Wouldn't have to tear apart the block for this the majority of the work is under the hood? Rewiring a new harness wouldn't bother me much I've got plenty of soldering experience and I don't like the work of the person who did the swap

If I do have to toss the nistune then maybe it can foot the bill for the parts

Last edited by Violator; 07-27-2018 at 10:09 PM.
Old 07-26-2018, 11:43 AM

another way to go about it might be to use the front cover and everything from a 2002+ VQ35 pathfinder, all the sensors and such are on the front cover, if it's something you want to look into I have a front cover and everything from the pathfinder sitting around
Old 07-26-2018, 12:43 PM
I'm nutty for Nissans

You didn't build this right? Do you know where the static cam timing is? What adapters were used?

What is your intake plenum setup? Working VIAS?
Old 07-26-2018, 09:46 PM

Originally Posted by vernk
another way to go about it might be to use the front cover and everything from a 2002+ VQ35 pathfinder, all the sensors and such are on the front cover, if it's something you want to look into I have a front cover and everything from the pathfinder sitting around
Originally Posted by JSutter
You didn't build this right? Do you know where the static cam timing is? What adapters were used?

What is your intake plenum setup? Working VIAS?