Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

replacing entire Bose sytem...questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2003, 06:30 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

replacing entire Bose sytem...questions

Hello, my Bose headunit started getting static when playing cds, a cd player cleaner can probably fix that but I still plan to replace the headunit. Im just going to replace the whole system since im going to have problems using the bose speakers. I decided to go with the Alpine CDA-9807 headunit. Im not sure which speakers to go with. Im a noob when it comes to car audio so I need some help. For the front speakers, should I go with the woofers and dome tweeters, like how the Bose is setup now or just get 2 or 3-way speakers. What kind of speakers should I get for the back? Im not planning on buying subs when I replace everything but I an going to add some later. Which brand of speakers should I go with? Thanks in advance.

Alpine CDA-9807
http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...=1&cc=01&avf=Y
Old 10-13-2003, 07:09 PM
Infiniti 35 Double G's

Since we both have 4th Gens with Bose, we're in the same boat. First, since you have tweeters in the front, go ahead and take advantage of this by getting components in the front (6.5"), and either 3-ways in the rear(6.5" also), or a sub or two in the back; if you don't purchase an amp to power everything, you'll have to run new speaker wire to all the new speakers to bypass the stock Bose relay & amp...I learned that sh*t the hard way.

Whatever choices you make, good luck. You're sure to get a number of opinions & options here....
Old 10-13-2003, 10:26 PM

this place sells this deck much cheaper.. i bought most of my system from them.

http://etronics.resultspage.com/disp...x=7&image1.y=3
Old 10-14-2003, 01:12 PM