Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Opinions on Audiobahn

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2004, 06:13 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Opinions on Audiobahn

Ok guys please be honest. I'm a college student on a smallish budget for the audio build up on my Maxima. A currently have a Kenwood KDC-MP922 head unit and Audiobahn 6.5 speakers all around. The reason I'm asking about Audiobahn is because everyone seems to have their stuff. All the shows I go to people use it, most of the major import mags are full of Audiobahn amps/subs. Now is this because the stuff is cheap? Or is it good? I mean with both their amps and subs they seem to be good price to power ratio. I really only have the money to do it right the first time. I'm worried about doing a really nice custom install and having junk subs in there and everyone knocking me for it. Please share all experience with Audiobahn as well as opinion. BUT please dont just say..."ah it all sucks!" - Be kind enough to say why. Thanks guys!
Old 01-25-2004, 10:53 PM

It really depends on what you are looking for. If you are looking for a decent SPL sub, audiobahn is right up your alley. They are not really known as well for their SQ qualities. I had an aw1200x a few years ago and it pounded. Capable of carrying fairly quick bass lines while being damned loud. The only thing I would watch out for is the fact that their subs are overrated, I wouldn't give any more than what their RMS is to any of their lines. I don't think you would be disappointed however.

There are lots of options to explore, let us know what type of music you listen to, if you want an SQ or SPL setup and what type of power you will be giving it.

Good luck,

Jake
Old 01-25-2004, 11:24 PM

IMO, audiobahn is too geared towards show. that's probably why many people use audiobahn gear in their show cars. all their stuff seems to be chromed and what-not. my $.02