Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

I think my amps are distorting... or maybe something else?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2004, 11:52 AM

I think my amps are distorting... or maybe something else?

First off... I'm not an audio expert and I didnt install the system, I had someone install it for me... I do know some basics of electrical components... Currently I have CDT components up front and CDT 2 ways out back... a Rockford Fosgate 4x125w amp... 2 Rockford Fosgate Punch H2 subs and a Lanzar 2000x2 amp...

Last week I took a trip up to Boston. On the way after about 3 hours of playing my system... nothing too loud just normal volume it started distoring... really badly. It was making a really bad whining noise that really was annoying. I couldnt play the music anymore. After letting the car sit for a little while everything sounded fine... after another hour or so of playing it started again. Whoever installed the system did not run the RCA and power wires on opposite sides I'm planning on doing that during the weekend.. but I never had that problem before. Not only was it whining but there was a loud crackling noise coming from the back whenever the high and low notes hit... anyone know what this is? Could it be the amps getting hot and distorting? Could it be because of the RCA's and power wire running on the same side? Help me please! I'm planning on taking a drive up to Maine this weekend and I'm hoping on fixing this before hand. Thanks everyone
Old 07-05-2004, 12:24 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

IT sounds to me that it is an overheating problem. Especially if it plays fine for a while. Where are the amps mounted? Does it appear that they get proper ventilation?