Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Dan and other fiberglassing experts - step in

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2006, 09:11 PM
Go BUCKS!!!

Dan and other fiberglassing experts - step in

I need some good web-links/write-ups for fiberglassing. Whatever you've got, let me know.
Old 08-20-2006, 09:22 PM

Im no expert, but heres the Sticky at caraudio.com for Fiberglass How To Links

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36873
Old 08-21-2006, 11:15 PM
Go BUCKS!!!

Some of those are decent, but I've never seen anyone use tin foil when working with fiberglass.
Old 08-22-2006, 01:24 AM
Back from Hibernation

Foil can work as a quick way to cover up what you're glassing over. I used it when doing a spare tire well enclosure in a previous car but for kicpanls I'd go with tape below it.
Old 08-22-2006, 01:47 AM
Go BUCKS!!!

I found some really good information that I'll reference when the time comes:

http://www.ajquick.com/cars/tutorials/fiberglass.php
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...sp?FID=16&PN=1
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=76328
http://empegbbs.com/ubbthreads/showf...?Number=281300
http://www.caraudiohelp.com/newslett...***_layers.htm
Old 08-22-2006, 03:14 AM
Back from Hibernation

There's some good ones there.

What are you planning to make?

I recommend getting glass from http://www.shopmaninc.com/. Plan ahead and get what you need from here and get the right stuff for your specific job, and for cheaper....
Old 08-22-2006, 03:18 AM
Go BUCKS!!!

I think I'm going to attempt a spare tire well enclosure for my single 12w6v2
Old 08-22-2006, 03:38 AM
SHIFT_om nom nom nom

Tim, I have some things to get do during the morning hours here at work - I'll put my $0.02 in later on today.
Old 08-22-2006, 03:40 AM
Back from Hibernation