Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Electronics related :) (capacitors)

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2001, 10:44 AM

Electronics related :) (capacitors)

Basically i will be providing a capacitor with 3 volts of electricity
how can i figure out how long it will take to lose the voltage once the voltage to the capacitator is stopped?

I'm not sure how many "farads" the capcitator will be since i'm still learning this right now

what should i be looking out for?

My goal is to have a light fade out. I'm hoping it would be progressive over maybe 2-3 seconds...

any insight, help, urls, anything would be great
Thanks
Old 10-25-2001, 11:54 AM

Wow, damn this a good post. Multiplexor, put this on clubmax, or let UMD know about it, I'm sure he could figure it out and I'll look through some of my old linear circuit analysis books and try to get back to you.
Old 10-25-2001, 01:50 PM

hehe consider it done

problem is that i'm that the greatest in electronics... i can get around... but not nearly as easily as alot of you here, i'm sure.

If we could figure this out then we could probably have some nice dome lights that fade out when turned off...

or instrument clusters fading out, whatever we'd like hehe

actually something kinda neat woult be the red alarm led fading in and out... instead of just flashing.

Dusty, any help would be awesome
Old 10-25-2001, 11:35 PM
STFU n00b!

first thing you have to do is figure out how much current your load is using.. that, and the "fade-out" time will determine the size of the capacitor.

throw some numbers back and we'll see what we can do. shouldn't be too hard, just a couple of differential equations.
Old 10-26-2001, 09:48 PM