Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Advice for upgrading my audio/electronics (2006 Maxima, No Bose, No Sat)

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2008, 10:56 AM

Advice for upgrading my audio/electronics (2006 Maxima, No Bose, No Sat)

Hello all

I know there have probably been quite literally dozens for topics regarding my question but I tried searching and I looked back about 8 pages worth of threads and didn't really find what I was looking for.

To get to the point ASAP, I have a 2006 Nissan Maxima without Bose system (just plain old factory setup).

My question is regarding upgrading my audio system, specifically I'm looking to get some kind of in-dash dvd/sat/gps type setup here. I am really new to this and I really don't know where to start. I want to outfit my car with a second device, and leave my current setup as is and just add another in-dash component below where the cd player and tape player currently is.

So, pretty much I would like to add something below all the controls. However, I don't know how to go about this process. Is there a place I can buy a new faceplate to match the rest of my car to since the new device will be quite different than the current setup/faceplate?

Also, if anyone has done anything like this if you could post pictures of your setup that would be greatly appreciated.

My Max: 2006 Maxima with factory stereo (no Bose and not "satellite ready")

Secondary questions/concerns:
I don't have a "SAT" button just FYI so I doubt I could use something like this: http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...AINIS2&tp=1672)

But I would also like to know if something like this would work with my vehicle: http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...6CLSES&tp=1672 or possibly this device: http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...OSA200&tp=1672

I know there are a lot of questions here, but I would greatly appreciate any kind of assistance I can get.

Thanks a lot.