Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Need help on choosing an amp.

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2011, 07:42 AM
L36

Need help on choosing an amp.

Hello.
So my rockford punch 600a4 died, it refuses to turn on, the LED stays lit but it does not turn on, checked all the cabling and voltages...
When it does turn on, only front speakers work, rear do not, yes i checked all connections and cables.

Anyway, most likely repairing this amp for me will run quite expensive so i need some help picking a good amp for my speakers. Must be 4 channel, i have 4 ohm 2 way 100 watt speakers totaling 2 pairs of them. I'm an audio noob, since i bout the car recently with all the audio addons. Or possibly it worth trying to repair the amp i have?
Thanks.
Old 02-15-2011, 11:36 AM

Well I have been running an Alpine 75x5 Rms 4 channel with infinity speakers in 3 different cars for about 5 years. Alpine has never let me down. Other 4 ch I used to love when I worked at best buy and the ol CC was Infinity and Polk and kicker. They kicker/rockford 4 channels were expensive but not bad sounding. Though for the money I liked alpine/infinty better. Now theres boston acoustics many people swear by them Ive never used them. You really just need to do your research... in car audio you get what you pay for but the name brands always mark up there product so you goota look for deals...I know a conundrum!

Good place you can find deals http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/

Crutchfild is your best place for research there web site ratings of amps are usually spot on. Best buys web site is usually wrong but you can always go in look at test and feel out the product.