Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Question about annoying remote wires not working with after market head units.

Old 12-30-2012, 12:41 PM

Question about annoying remote wires not working with after market head units.

whats up audio section of the org. ive got a question since im not an electronics expert, thats been bothering me. in my car when i installed my doubledin, my remote wire to my system no longer gave power to my amp. so i had to install it directly to the battery with a switch.

also, i just installed a head unit and system into my boys chevy aveo, and his car had the same problem! the subs and headunit worked in his old car, a mitsu mirage. but now, no matter that the remote wire is hooked up correctly through the headunit, it does not provide power to the amp. but hooking it directly up to the battery solves the problem.

what the hell is the deal with this? why does the remote wire not work with certain head units and certain cars? requiring you to hook it directly up to the positive battery terminal with a toggle switch? pisses me off.
Old 12-30-2012, 04:04 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Originally Posted by GGENIUS
whats up audio section of the org. ive got a question since im not an electronics expert, thats been bothering me. in my car when i installed my doubledin, my remote wire to my system no longer gave power to my amp. so i had to install it directly to the battery with a switch.

also, i just installed a head unit and system into my boys chevy aveo, and his car had the same problem! the subs and headunit worked in his old car, a mitsu mirage. but now, no matter that the remote wire is hooked up correctly through the headunit, it does not provide power to the amp. but hooking it directly up to the battery solves the problem.