Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Help? Capacitors, high amp alternators, batteries

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2014, 08:41 PM

Help? Capacitors, high amp alternators, batteries

Need some help in this department. Electronics im not good at but then again im not good at much of anything. Here is the issue, my system has been upgraded so its running a amp that is twice as powerful as before it also has twice as many aftermarket electronics supporting the motor and im noticing when bass hits not only do the lights dim but my idle "dims".

So its a Stock but New I30 120amp alternator w/Normal autozone battery, here is everything that has been added running off of them plus the normal electronics:

Alpine M605 (600W)
Boston Acoustics G2-12
Kenwood single din HU(soon to be Alpine S920HD)
Emanage Blue
E-01
AEM UEGO
Prosport oil pressure gauge
Prosport oil temp gauge
Defi Fuel pressure gauge
55W HIDs

Then there are things like the upgraded fuel pump which im sure draws more amps than stock, the new slim electric Rad fans which i want to add 2 more fans so that will be even more amps draw from the stock battery amp combo. What im worried about is what happens one day when im just feeling my music at night and there are is not enough power to push everything?

One think i will say is I am definitely against the "Big 3 Upgrade" im not a huge fan of bypassing some of the factory safe guards. Some say Caps help others say its useless, High amperage alternators are expensive, and adding a second battery, since we are all ricers and we know that batteries weigh 5000lbs they are the anti Christ but what should i be looking at doing to make sure my car has enough power to push everything?
Old 09-18-2014, 09:15 PM

Replace your battery with a tank like this:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001GM...&robot_redir=1