Audio and Electronics Discuss in-car entertainment systems, audio and video systems, car alarms and other electronics topics.

Which type of wire for high level amp inputs?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2002, 10:46 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Which type of wire for high level amp inputs?

I'm a newbie here, so I apologize if this has already been covered. I couldn't find it by searching (although I did find how to run the amp power cable through the firewall on my '90, so I won't have to ask that question). Anyway, I'm installing an amp in the trunk and a HU that has only one set of preamp outs. I'll be using the speaker outs to drive the rear amp inputs, and I need to know what type of wire to use from the HU to the amp: speaker wire (unshielded) or shielded RCA wire? Also, to minimize noise problems, do I run this "high level" signal cable near the "low level" signal cable or does it need to be separated? Thank you for your help, and I apologize if this is already covered elsewhere. Jonathan Babiak (Austin, Texas)
Old 04-29-2002, 09:57 PM
jmax

If you are using high level inputs for just the rear speakers you should be able to use the factory speaker wires. Just tap into the wires where the would otherwise connect to the rear speakers. As for the RCA, you will only need one set of high quality shielded cables for the front outputs of the headunit. Another option is to use that set of RCA cables for both inputs of the amp. Either with a Y cable or internal circuits in the amp.

Old 04-30-2002, 01:13 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Thanks jmax. I found out when my amp arrived last night that I'll be using high level signals front and rear, because the amp has only one hi/lo switch for both front and rear. Thank you for the help. Jonathan Babiak (Austin, Texas)
Old 05-01-2002, 03:32 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member