Garage and Workshop This forum is for discussions of what goes on in the garage - "the tools, the techniques, the tricks" ...or something like that. DO NOT POST QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR CAR HERE.

to get an air compressor or not.

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2008, 12:40 AM

to get an air compressor or not.

I've just found this part of the forum, i haven't been on the org for a while now.

But a little info on my situation, I'm was looking to get an air compressor ( most likely a 26 or 33 gal craftsman upright with the tag of 300$). I was a entry level tech for volkswagen and collected my share of air tools since the shop supplied the compressed air. I quit and don't plan on going back into that field but i love to work on cars. I have a whole draw full of air tools mainly my 1/2 IR 2135TI gun and my 3/8 snap-on impact gun. 2 air ratchets a 1/4 and 3/8, blow guns, cut off wheels ( personal fav) and probaly other stuff as well i haven't touched my air tool drawer since i quit.

I've just always been using the breaker bar. Now i told myself this summer i'll grab me a compressor and call it a day. Start using my tools once again. Since i found this section and i've been reading up on your cordless impacts putting out 300ft/lb, it got me thinking should i say screw the compressor and go all cordless stuff. I"m not hard core mechanic anymore. And i dont know if i can exactly make room for a air compressor in the garage. I'm almost certain i can sell my air tools and come up with little money out of my pocket if i was go to with air tools.

Not sure where i can get cordless ratchet. Noticed IR had some.
Old 07-20-2008, 01:32 PM
Jesus was a Zombie.