Garage and Workshop This forum is for discussions of what goes on in the garage - "the tools, the techniques, the tricks" ...or something like that. DO NOT POST QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR CAR HERE.

Anyone has a Tig/Arc/Plasma cutter station...

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2010, 12:19 PM

Anyone has a Tig/Arc/Plasma cutter station...

Hey guys, I didn't wanted to post this in my N/A thread, even though it is related to my project, I though it might be more appropriate to post here.

Basically I have been shopping for a while to purchase a Tig/Arc/Plasma cutter a 3 in 1 type of welding station. I know company like Miller & Lincoln make very good welding products but it is about 2 to 4 time more pricey, than what my budget allow me, perhaps their products are more aimed at the professional welder. I want a good and reliable welder station for my needs. I have found 2 place that sell online at a very affordable price.

I'm a hobbyist and wont become a professional welder but I have been welding for well over 25 years, and I can make good welds. I have about a 1000$ cdn to spend, that would include taxes & shipping. I have found 2 online seller that sell what is to be a very nice station for hobbyist, I'm waiting for their response, but as soon as they reply I will report it back here cuz I think I am not the only one that need to weld once in a while but doesn't have the budget of a shop. I have seen 3 in 1 station in price that range from 399$ to 4000$ but the one I'm looking are selling around 700$ to 1000$

I know I will also need to buy an Argon bottle, a 20 lbs is around 200$ if I remember correctly. I'm also expecting to spend another let say 300$ for a mask and a small supply of rods to welds, ss, metal, metal sheet and possibly aluminum. If anyone is in a similar situation I'd like to hear about your story / experience*so we can share our own experience.

Last edited by doublea; 09-12-2010 at 12:22 PM.
Old 09-12-2010, 01:10 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member