General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Belt test question? How tight is the belt suppose to be on a supercharger?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2002, 01:23 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Belt test question? How tight is the belt suppose to be on a supercharger?

Alright I know that I am asking a noob question but cheston said that if the belt was too tight on the SCer it may blow the seals. I installed a new belt about two weeks ago and shaved down the plate. But one day while driving on the highway and at the Dyno I hear this high pitch squeal and turns out my belt was loose. Today I sinched down the belt and took it on a test drive. about 5800RPMS the belts is still squealing. Come back home and tightent it some more. I have about 1/4 play if not a bit more.
Old 10-14-2002, 04:59 AM
Donating Maxima.org Member

I have some experience with Mustangs and superchargers. If your belt is tight but slips at high rpm maybe the supercharger mounting bracket is flexing and pulling the supercharger towards the crank. This makes the distance between the supercharger and crank shorter, loosening the belt. The best way to eliminate this is to brace the supercharger better. Can you get your hand in the center of the belt and squeeze. See if the supercharger moves even slightly. If it does then it will move even more under boost.

What width is your belt? If no flexing of the bracket is experienced then a wider belt may be needed. Belts are available up to 10 rib or you can go with a cogged belt. ASP can custom make any kind of pulley system you need for your application.

To answer your original question. I have tightened belts where I felt they were too tight but no damage was done to the supercharger or crank bearings. Best to get your set up right so the belt doesn't have to be so tight.
Old 10-14-2002, 06:19 AM
Rice Boy in Denial =)