General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Help a 1997 Maxima Owner (warning-Long Post)

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2003, 11:16 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Help a 1997 Maxima Owner (warning-Long Post)

Hey all, great forum.

I own a 1997 GXE. It has 78K miles on it, and I've decided that not having a car payment is great, the car is still in very good shape.

I would like to make some enhancements, and I know just enough to be dangerous to myself, and possibly mankind in general.

I work in sales for a very conservative company, I need my car, having a tricked out car is simply a bad move for to many reasons to mention. What I would like to maintain, and give the impression of, is having a car that appears on the outside to just be a very well maintained 1997 Maxima. However, I'd like to have a car that at least performance wise has a little more bite to go with the bark. I'd prefer also to stay with standard tire sizes, albeit high quality tires.

You guys reel me in if I'm off base, but I think I can accomplish these things by concentrating on the following:

Engine Compartment:
Intake-If so what brand?
Electronics Module-If so what brand?

Emission:
What kind of exhaust setup will still provide a relative level of quiet and refinement while improving performance. A little more snarl is fine, waking the neighbors and being unable to talk to clients on the way to lunch is not.

Exterior:
I'd like to add 'fog' lights, but I want to give the impression to someone that they've been there all along, any thoughts on any HID possibilities, that don't look too exotic.

Suspension:
Would love to quiet the car down some, and yet improve handling, but don't want anything that's going to crack teeth on every bump. Any thoughts?