General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

compressing rear calipers

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2004, 02:47 PM

compressing rear calipers

I realize that I'm supposed to just turn the thing. I'm turning and turning and turning and turning and turning and .............................................

Man this takes a long time. Is this other people's experiences?
Old 06-02-2004, 03:15 PM
OT n00bs FTMFCSL

Yeah man. Just keep turning until it won't
Old 06-02-2004, 03:26 PM
Ford Only.

Make sure the bleeder valve is wide open and push as hard as you can while you turn, it can be a pain. If it doesnt budge, you could have a seized caliper.
Old 06-02-2004, 03:28 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

donald - bleeder valve open? I've never done that before. If you do, be sure to bleed the brakes properly afterwards

I think you mean open the master cylinder cap to releive some pressure

make sure you're turning it clockwise and it should be retracting
Old 06-02-2004, 03:31 PM
Ford Only.

Originally Posted by «§»Craig B«§»
donald - bleeder valve open? I've never done that before. If you do, be sure to bleed the brakes properly afterwards

nope, I usually open it and it compresses easier. I usually always rebleed the system whenever messing with the brakes.
Old 06-02-2004, 04:03 PM
Sports Button FTW

u have to turn it clockwise or counterclockwise, and make sure your ebrake isnt up and make sure your car isnt in first gear. If u turn it wrong way it will open out. I believe clockwise is the right way.
Old 06-03-2004, 06:00 PM

Thanks guys. I got it done. I talked to an ex-Infiniti tech today and he told me that you are supposed to lift the rubber boot that's on the caliper. I didn't do that. That could be part of the reason why it was so difficult. I hope I didn't rip em.
Old 06-03-2004, 08:43 PM

Originally Posted by «§»Craig B«§»