General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

SCCA Solo II...AutoX

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2001, 05:47 PM

hey, im really new to autocrossing but im really interested in it. it seems fun but i really dont know much about it. there is a SCCA Solo II coming up this sunday and i would like to participate but dont know what to do. i belive that my car is a "Street Prepared Class D." other than getting a helmet, is there anything else i need to do, classes, seminar, anything? here is a link to what i have found, http://www.houscca.com/solo2/solo.html can someone enlighten me further or correct me and guide me to the right thing? thanks
Old 05-02-2001, 06:36 PM
ryz

our car competes in sts class, battery tie down,nothing lose in your car ,maximum air presure in tires ( to prevent roll over )I think thats it ........
polk around maxima driver .com to see other race tech stuff
Old 05-02-2001, 06:39 PM
ryz

look at here too

http://www.sfrscca.org/solo2/
Old 05-02-2001, 08:46 PM

Originally posted by ryz
maximum air presure in tires ( to prevent roll over )
BTW, he means rollover on the sidewalls, not rolling the car over. That won't happen in autox. Just wanted to clarify that.

Actually, if the Houston region is not too strict, you might get to run in the G Stock class. I'm not sure what your intake "mod" is, but a cat-back exhaust is allowed in stock and it looks like you're running on stock size wheels and tires. The leather, stereo, and probably even the clear corners could fall under "comfort and convenience" items which are deemed non-performance-enhancing.

First things first -- go here and read Kate Hughes' Novice Autocrosser Handbook.