General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

rust

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2000, 05:31 PM

i got a 3rd gen max. under the passenger door (outside of course) is rusting. How could i stop it from spreading?
Old 10-11-2000, 09:28 PM
...needs to please stop post whoring.

I'm not an expert in body work, but it makes sense that you would have to remove all the rust (sand it or whatever), fill in the spots with compound, and paint over it. Just a guess.

Old 10-11-2000, 10:07 PM

I'm not sure how your doors are. How much rust? It could be water that gets into the door through the weather strip stays inside the bottom of the door.

This is common with older cars, but I mean much older American cars. So I don't know. If this is the case, drilling 3 small holes a few inches apart along the inside/bottom of your door would prevent future rust.

For the damage that is there, NickStam is right. If its too much rust, bondo/compound is not woth the truble though, and will sink in or loose its shape. In that case, look for a new door, or locate one from the wrecking yard, get it painted and transplant the inside of the door.

Rust is not fun, its like cancer and will spread if you leave some. If its a lot, the only other alt., is cutting it out and welding in new metal. (done with rare old cars when you have nothing to get parts from)See why I recommend new door ?

Old 10-11-2000, 10:12 PM

ahh a fellow rusted max :)>>>