General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Can U shift ur automagic like its a manual?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2001, 01:51 AM

Can U shift ur automagic like its a manual?

yah i got a 2k1 automagic.. and im liek totally lost about a lot of things so im just learning.

Can you shift your auto like its a manual.. can i leave it in the gear #1 and gas it and once it revs to like 5000-6000 change it right away to gear #2 and let that rev to 5000-6000.. then release the gas and shift it to drive.. give it about half a sec to a sec to change gears to third or fourth.. and then gas it.. i have no clue if that makes sense but could u please respond to this..

ok so my two questions are:
1. What is a 2k1 gxes 0-60 time? ( i heard somewhere it was mid 7's to 8 and i heard it was 8.3 at some other site)
2. Does that MANUAL shifting with an AUTO WORK? and will it cut down on my 0-60 time?
Old 11-13-2001, 05:06 AM

you can try, but it's still an automatic since you have that torque converter

regardless, there's always a delay in between shifts. just leave it in D
Old 11-13-2001, 05:16 AM
Minister of Silly Walks

Yes you can shift for yourself. There is no need to let off the gas EVER when trying to go fast with an automagic. There has been some debate about whether or not this will help your acceleration. Some have seen an improvement, some have not.

When I say improvement, I mean measurable difference on the track, not butt-dyno.
Old 11-13-2001, 06:48 AM

Yes, you can shift an auto like it is a manual...but like Phuong said, you will still experience a pause between shifting. Run a search on it, and you'll find plenty of threads talking about shifting an auto and also, how to do it. Also, Don recently posted about automatic transmissions and what you can do to make it faster...

http://forums.maxima.org/showthread.php?threadid=870

Enjoy!