General Maxima Discussion This a general area for Maxima discussions for all years. For more specific questions, visit one of the generation-specific forums.

Hello all...warning long post.

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2000, 06:37 PM

I'm a newbie to this board who just bought a '98 SE (Arctic) 5 sp 42K. I happen to work in the auto auction industry and see a lot of Nissans come in off of lease. Like sometimes hundreds per week. In the past few years I've seen quite a few V6 Nissan engines come in blown up. I mean, severely - rods through the side of the block that sort of thing. These have been everything from Pathfinders to 300ZXs. For a while I was leary of buying a Maxima for this reason. The thing is, most of these cars were repos, so maybe we were just getting the bad ones. Also, Asian cars are just more reliable than anything else. I told myself that after driving this SE which I immediately fell in love with. So here's the deal - sometimes when my car has been sitting for more than an hour (and this has only happened a couple times) when I start the engine it raps for a split second before the oil pressure comes up. I mean, I have to be in the garage to hear it and it only does it for like a split second. Now, I've heard this noise on American cars and called it normal. Is this a normal sound for a Maxima? I'm wondering if they just build these motors loose. I'm sure everyone here is a little biased and will tell me they are the greatest engines in the world, but I need someone to tell me that they have heard that noise before.
Anyway, I'm sure I'll have pics of the car up sooner or later like everyone else.

P.S. Paid 14,200 for the car. Ain't wholesale grand?
Old 11-09-2000, 06:43 PM
The missing moderator