Nitrous Discuss dry, wet, and direct port nitrous setups. How many shots can you handle?

Emanage Ultimate and timing advance...

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 03:57 PM
Hella internets

Emanage Ultimate and timing advance...

Alright well after doing my research i have come to learn that advance timing is a big no no with any nitrous setup. Im really new to tuning, and pretty much know nothing, i just ordered all my stuff to get my EU working (wideband, harness...etc).

I have a few questions for those spraying and using the EU.

I was planing on advancing the timing to get some gains while not spraying, the VQ seams to get rather good HP gains from just timing advance NA, but i was wondering if there was an easy way to have multiple settings on the EU to i guess "toggle" in between spraying and NA performance.

Is there any easy ways to i guess turn off timing advance and maintain the EU fuel maps without the timing so you can spray "on-the-fly" and return to the other NA settings after you spray?
Old 02-13-2007, 07:37 PM

I thought the timing adv. was only for the base timing, therefore, should not hurt anything on the top end. (i.e. when you spray)
Old 02-23-2007, 09:25 AM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by BLK2BLU
I thought the timing adv. was only for the base timing, therefore, should not hurt anything on the top end. (i.e. when you spray)
No the EU can advance the ignition timing not just the base timing. In the case of FI I believe you usually retard the timing, but I'm not expert on FI so don't take my word for it.

As for the maps, the EU has toggle switches that can allow you to switch through various maps. I don't know the full extent or how many maps you can have stored but I know you can have a few which would allow you to advance the timing in one map and have it stock timing in another map with just adjusted air/fuel ratio.
Old 02-23-2007, 11:52 AM
absoundlab