Supercharged/Turbocharged The increase in air/fuel pressure above atmospheric pressure in the intake system caused by the action of a supercharger or turbocharger attached to an engine.

Broken belt in 15 days

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 04:04 PM

Broken belt in 15 days

Just one when I thought every thing was going great and the s/c setup was going to be reliable BOOM PLATPLATPLATPLAT!#$%!#$^#$@!$^%@#. Yep my belt got tore up and came off the pulley. I just finish cutting it off, got to where I was going and back home minus the ac. and alternator. Would that cause any damage to drive 10 miles without a belt? I'm not sure if it came off because it was a off brand belt or if I might of had it to tight? Well anyway I went to Napa and got a gates I hope this one last a little longer next time that thing comes off it will be to upgrade the pulleys. PIMPING AINT EASY
Old 02-20-2005, 04:21 PM

Sorry to hear you belt broke.

I'm far from a supercharger expert, or novice at that, but maybe it wasnt on properly.

I dont trust S/C it seems like its only a matter of time before the belt brakes.
Old 02-20-2005, 05:15 PM
confident nissan owner

actually the main cause of broken belt is to loose not tight and s/c is far far more reliable than an turbo, it's alot less likely to blow your engine. make sure after you put on your new belt you check it daily for awhile, you will probably have to retighten a few times, the way this works is this

to loose= broken belt, slips and shreds
to tight= possible damage to s/c compressor bearings

and it's a thin line between just right and too tight, g/l
Old 02-20-2005, 05:22 PM