3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Sticky rear caliper piston-rebuild easy?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2006, 01:00 PM
Baby's on the Half Tip!

Sticky rear caliper piston-rebuild easy?

I have a sticky right rear caliper piston. In my Haynes manual it says the rebuild can't be done by a "home mechanic." I've never worked with calipers before and am probably less qualified than a home mechanic, haha.

I did find a rebuild kit for that caliper, though, at Autozone. The rebuild kit is only the rubber pieces, but is it possible that I'd be able to do it? Should I go with a used caliper? Is there a write up anywhere about rebuilding a rear caliper? The autozone webpage shows the rebuild of a front caliper, but not the rear.

Thanks for your help, i hope to do all the brakes tommorrow, wish me luck!
Old 11-03-2006, 01:13 PM
Back in a 3rd Gen.

its not too bad but the problem is the piston may be rusted and pitted as well. Usually what happens is the big rubber boot gets a hole in it. Then moisture gets in and rust starts to build up on the metal edge between the outer rubber boot and the inner rubber seal. Its a small area but that is usually what rusts. The piston can sometimes get pitted from that rust because its right up against it.

I was going to rebuild the calipers on my car but when I took them apart the pistons were pitted pretty bad so I had to buy some junk yard calipers that were fine but I went ahead and rebuilt them for good measure.
Old 11-03-2006, 01:15 PM
I'm needing a caw

Too bad it wasn't the driver's side. I have one for sale.
Old 11-03-2006, 02:22 PM
Getting back to his roots

Originally Posted by hoyshnin
I have a sticky right rear caliper piston. In my Haynes manual it says the rebuild can't be done by a "home mechanic." I've never worked with calipers before and am probably less qualified than a home mechanic, haha.