3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

General Automotive Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2007, 11:56 AM

General Automotive Question

Does an engine see the same workload at 4500rpms in first gear, as it would in fourth gear? I would assume yes, but I was just wondering
Old 02-23-2007, 12:08 PM
mod or sell?

no it does not
Old 02-23-2007, 12:19 PM
I'm needing a caw

I would have to agree w/ post 2
Old 02-23-2007, 12:27 PM
Supporting Maxima.org Member

Originally Posted by Gunther
Does an engine see the same workload at 4500rpms in first gear, as it would in fourth gear? I would assume yes, but I was just wondering

I'm not a mechanic but I'm sure it doest. I think a simple analogy would be riding a ten speed bicycle. You start in 1st gear because it's very easy to pedal, as your speed increases you would need to change into a higher gear. Why? Because if you stayed in 1st gear you would become exhausted faster as opposed to changing into a "higher gear". i.e Your body is doing "less work" but youre moving faster because youve already gained that momentum from 1st gear.Depending on how fast you keep pedalling you may need to change into another higer gear and so it continues until you will find yourself barely pedalling yet youre moving really fast. You also wont start pedalling your cycle in the 10 gear because it's more difficult. It's the reason we start driving our cars in a lower gear to build that initial speed and then change it.

Engines have RPM (revolutions per minute) which is indicated on the tachometer. Look at your corresponding speed(mph) for the tach speed. You will notice that as your tach and engine speed increases you will need to shift into a higher gear. Same concept as shifting in the 2nd gear on the bicycle. Thats also why cars have a redline value because if you exceed that value for a considerably period of time you can risk damage to the engine.Thats like a cyclists becoming exhausted.