3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Many Issues. High idling, smoke out tailpipe

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2008, 12:30 PM

Many Issues. High idling, smoke out tailpipe

Okay, I looked through many post, but not able to seek what I'm looking for. So I figuere if I explain, maybe I can get some help or ideas. I'm not a mechanic, but know a few things. Here we go.

Okay just had valve cover gasket, and manifold gasket replace two months ago. Oil was leaking, and loud noise was the issue. After that was repaired, the car was sputtering still, and cutting off here and there, and I had to mash the clutch and give car some gas to crank it up. I replaced spark plugs, and fuel filter and that cut alot of the sputtering out, but there was still some. Didn't have a smooth take off, and still had to hold gas pedal down to crank up. I thought I was on the road for some good things still. At this point I figuered some gas treatment, or fuel injector cleaner would mello everything out. Two weeks later I think I lost my gas cap, and thought maybe water or air got in. Once the car would warm up, at every light, or stop sign car cuts off!! Pain in the a$$. I noticed the rpm would just hit rock bottom, I would try to go in to neutral while the car was rolling and give car gas, but as soon as I let off, car would cut off, even before I stopped! I was told it could be one or all of my fuel injectors causing this. Now the past two weeks my car now on start up revs up to about 2500rpm, sounds like I'm on the gas when I'm not. And I have smoke coming out the tail pipe smoking up the place. And a knocking sound coming from the engine. What in the world has happen. Does this sound like engine replacement coming??? Holla atcha boy
Old 04-15-2008, 12:33 PM
Call me Wookiee Goldberg

what color is the smoke?
Old 04-15-2008, 12:44 PM

Originally Posted by capedcadaver
what color is the smoke?