3rd Generation Maxima (1989-1994) Learn more about the 3rd Generation Maxima here.

Replacing injectors. What else should i do while in there?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2015, 05:49 PM

Replacing injectors. What else should i do while in there?

Okay guys, be easy on me. 92 max gxe. 144k on the dash.

Recently got a better job, and can AFFORD to take car of my car. lol.

Ideally, I want this car to last for the rest of my life. I have little to no experience on working on her, but i do have great friends that are willing to help me put in these new injectors.

Anything else i can do while half of the engine is taken apart? Haven't done much with the car internally besides buying a couple vaccumm tubes, doing tranny fluid flushes, and swapping the seal (between the top and bottom of the engine; can't remember what it's called right now.)

I've read and heard some horror stories about belts breaking, causing stuff to get bent or break, and people junking their cars. Any belts worth doing while in there?
Old 08-06-2015, 08:37 PM

It's much less than 1/2 of the engine, there's not much else to do that you can't do with the plenum installed. You could replace the valve cover seals, or do a valve adjustment while you have access to the valve covers, but that's about the only maintenance that requires having the plenum off.
Old 08-07-2015, 07:54 AM

You could replace the valve cover seals

I had to do this recently and it was a ****-ton of work.

Since you're already going to be that deep it's super easy and fairly cheap.

Come to think of it I should have probably just pulled the trigger on new injectors while I was that deep in...