4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

leaking trans?, but no problems? Help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2002, 12:29 PM
Moderator who thinks he is better than us with his I30

leaking trans?, but no problems? Help.

I have had a small leak for the last few months. Leaving a little more than a quarter size stain each morning. I got under the car and it's seems pretty obvious it coming from the transmission. I have been checking my cluch fluid resivoir and it has stayed nice and full. All of my fluids have stayed at constant levels.
My car is running great, not a single problem. But there is oil leaking from somewhere and it seems to have gotten worse the last week.
I am no mechanic so it may not be my trans, but I know where my trans is and that is where it is dripping from. The oil is almost clear in color.
If anyone could help figure out how I could have had a constant leak with no change in any fluid levels. Like I said everything is running perfect.
Have any ideas?
Old 08-09-2002, 12:38 PM
Member who somehow became The President of The SE-L Club

Re: leaking trans?, but no problems? Help.

Originally posted by I30tMikeD
I have been checking my cluch fluid resivoir and it has stayed nice and full.
You checked the clutch fluid but not the tranny fluid. There 2 different systems and 2 totally different fluids.

You have an Alex Shaft Seal thats leaking. (most likely)

Question now is, are your carrier bearings starting to show signs of failure.....
Old 08-09-2002, 12:48 PM

Re: Re: leaking trans?, but no problems? Help.

Originally posted by njmaxseltd

You checked the clutch fluid but not the tranny fluid. There 2 different systems and 2 totally different fluids.

You have an Alex Shaft Seal thats leaking. (most likely)

Question now is, are your carrier bearings starting to show signs of failure.....