4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Gonna replace struts/shox - what else should I do?

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2001, 07:33 AM

I'm convinced that I should go ahead and replace all 4 struts/shox on my 95 (110k miles) before replacing all 4 tires and getting it aligned. You guys have also persuaded me to replace the bearings in the top strut mount. What else should I take care of while I've got the thing apart?

I spoke to Summit Racing this morning and they can get me 4 KYB/GR2 units for the car for $220. They also can order the strut bearings for about $35 for the set. All the other wear stuff (like the insulators for the top strut mounts) are 'dealer' items, they say. Where should I go to shop for that stuff? My local dealer?

Thanks again for all the help. I know my questions are elementary stuff for most of you, but I'm just learning about these cars.
Old 02-19-2001, 10:08 AM

That's a great price on the KYB's; I think I paid like 280 bux.

When I got the KYB's from Summit along with the isolators, the isolators included the strut bearings, don't know if it was supposed to or not. The bearings that I received looked a tad inferior to the OEM ones which I took out. I'd suggest you get a quote from Courtesey Nissan and Keene Nissan on the other parts including the bearings and go OEM with the accessories, there's not much of a difference in price, I think I was quoted 22 bux each for the bearings, which is list I think by the local dealer who only sells at list.

Courtesy Nissan: http://www.courtesyparts.com/

Keene Nissan: jason@nissanofkeene.com

Also, while you're at it might want to change the plugs and fuel filter if it hasn't been done recently.

Old 02-19-2001, 10:57 AM
Keven97SE

Some other things you should do at that time ->

mrgem, some other things I think you should do since your car has that many miles are: