4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Gasoline....Myth or truth?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2004, 03:14 AM
Newbie - Just Registered

Gasoline....Myth or truth?

Got a couple quick questions on gas for my Max.

1) What type should really be in the tank? 87? 89? 93? What does Nissan recommend? What do YOU recommend? Why?

2) Truth be told I am a poor college student and switch back between 87 and 89 or 93. I have been told that this is bad for the engine?

3) In your own opinion, do all gas stations pretty much have the same gas? I have heard that certain people only go to certain gas stations to get certain grades? What's your take on that?

I appericate any input or insight can give me into this dilemma of mine.
Old 06-03-2004, 04:32 AM
An atavistic endeavor...

Run what is in the manual...91. The car will run on lower octane but will not have full power and fuel efficiency.

I run only Sunoco and only Ultra 94 which is now "Ultra" 93...I am wasting my money....and I'm fine with that. The Ultra 94 used to be different and there was some evidence that it left your plugs a little cleaner, but I don't think that's the case with the "Ultra" 93.
Old 06-03-2004, 04:51 AM

do they sell ultra 94 anymore?? I was at sunoco the other day and all I saw was ultra 93
Old 06-03-2004, 05:02 AM
Kevlo for President

91+ You get better MPG and actually SAVE money because of hte better MPG with 91+ compared to 87
Old 06-03-2004, 06:15 AM
Not DAVEB the parts guy

1) Run the recommended octane of 91. The Maixma will run on the lower octanes, but the ECU has to dial back timing/advance and usually this will result in a a 5-10% reduction of power and MPG. For the amount you save getting lower octane fuel, you'll spend more on gas because the car is getting worse MPG.