4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Who's gotten caught at the races? On the street while running?

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2001, 11:37 PM

Aight, I am new to the Maxima scene ... Just wondering how many peeps out there run at the lights with other cars, and if you have... How many people have gotten caught while racing? Clocked on radar? Freeway? Streets? Accident while running another car? (Hope not...)

I got caught down here in SoCal in my Mustang with my buddies a couple of years ago... Luckily I wasn't running that night, since the cops had hidden video cameras and photographers to snap pics all night long and finally do a raid. 400+ people came down that night, and most left with tickets... They brought riot control officers, helicopters to catch those on foot, a caravan of 20 or more flatbed tow trucks and plenty of police vans to carry people away. Drama. Got a ticket, and the judge let my whole car load of friends go, including me. (Don't know why, or how.) Others lost their licenses, cars were impounded and a couple of people ended up doing some small time in jail... Just thought it would be cool to post some experiences in the Max scene. Nice to read em...
Old 05-13-2001, 12:05 PM
Donating Maxima.org Member

Hello ikSardarG:

The maximum penalty for drag racing on the streets in these parts of California is a few days in jail, major points on your license -- AND --
Your car is seized and auctioned off -- You never get your car back --

Those severe types of punishment is usually reserved for the most blatant violators -- where one competitor has to line up on the wrong side of the road and run up dramatically higher than the speed limits -- etc..

A more common stoplight race that ends not much faster than the speed limit should earn you just a speeding ticket if you get caught ---