4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

No reverse lights or A/C???????

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2006, 06:31 PM

No reverse lights or A/C???????

Alright guys here is the story, my A/C doesnt work at all, basically the car doesnt rev up to about 1000rpm like its supposed to when the a/c turns on or when i put the front defrost on. I guess its the fan or whatever but any suggestions on what could be wrong would be great?????? I dont feel like paying 80 bucks just to find out whats wrong with my car and have absolutely nothing done

Another thing, my reverse lights havent worked since i put a different 5spd in, they worked in the beginning but they just dont work no more. I checked the bulbs and fuse, everything looks good, i dont know what else it could be, any suggestions????????

Im a newbie guys, so sorry in advance if your sick of answering these questions but any help is appreciated
Old 04-01-2006, 08:08 PM
No more Maximas...

The reverse lights are driven off of a sensor on the trans bellhousing, so check down there for loose connectors or exposed wiring.

As far as the AC, does the clutch on the front of the compressor engage when you press the AC button and turn the fan up?
Old 04-02-2006, 05:53 AM
Member who somehow became The President of The SE-L Club

1) Your engine should not race when your A/C is turned on. Idle speed should remain constant regardless of load. Your A/C has probably lost it's refrigerant charge and the system will no longer engauge the compressor. Have it serviced by a qualified A/C mechanic. Mention to them that your engine races a bit when the a/c is running. Perhaps they can adjust your IACV to better control that.

2) Check the switch on the tranny that activates your reverse lights. Perhaps you forgot to put that plug back in, or the switch is bad.
Old 04-02-2006, 06:48 AM