4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

cv axle came out while changing struts

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2014, 03:38 PM

cv axle came out while changing struts

I'm pretty new to pretty much anything vehicle related, with that in mind I
recently bought a 1997 maxima that needed the front struts changed, since I live in ny and will drive it in the winter just went with kyb struts for now. when I replaced the drivers side strut I noticed that the hub assembly had a lot more play in it then when I took the strut out. I put everything together, put the car on the ground and went to start the car and found that when I put the car in drive it won't move. It won't move in Reverse. When I put in Park it makes some noise like Ddddrrrrrr. (so I immediately put it into neutral turned the car off and shifted into park) and that in park the car acted like it was in neutral. freaked out a little came here and found these two very helpful threads:

https://maxima.org/forums/4th-genera...ont-strut.html
and this
https://maxima.org/forums/4th-genera...e-reverse.html