4th Generation Maxima (1995-1999) Visit the 4th Generation forum to ask specific questions or find out more about the 4th Generation Maxima.

Front End Rebuild - Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2020, 12:41 PM
Newbie - Just Registered

Front End Rebuild - Advice?

Hey all,

I've been using this forum for a long time (10+ years) and it's been really useful to find solutions for a ton of issues. I'll make this as brief as possible.

April 28th, 2018, I had a front end wreck in my '99 Maxima SE. I only had liability insurance, so I towed the car back to my house and left it there. I haven't touched it until about 2 weeks ago. I haven't been in a financial position to fix it, and I'm still not, but I love the car too much to let it waste away. Obviously it's a large task ahead of me, so I wanted to get some opinions and advice from you more knowledgeable folks.

Here's what I'm up against: In the wreck, the hood was pushed back, damaging the upper part of the radiator support and the entire front grille/headlight section. The side panels are fine, but the radiator and fans are trashed. I'm not sure what else is damaged - when the wreck happened the coolant drained out of the cracked radiator, so the car was turned off and never started again.