5th Generation Maxima (2000-2003) Learn more about the 5th Generation Maxima, including the VQ30DE-K and VQ35DE engines.

heal toe ?

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2002, 04:31 PM

heal toe ?

Can someone describe to me exactly what heal-toe driving means.
Does it mean breaking and accelerating at the same time, using only the right foot?
Old 12-17-2002, 04:51 PM

Yeah, kinda. I am no expert but this is my take on it.

You use heel-toe in order to blip the RPM (up) in order to downshift not too abruptly. If you brake and downshift hard you can wind up with a case of "lift-off oversteer". Oversteer is when the back end wants to come around, swap ends. In the wrong place lift-off oversteer can really catch you out.

I would also guess that when done right you could also use it to keep the RPM up and the engine fed with gas so that the pickup is faster.
Old 12-17-2002, 04:55 PM

RE: Heal and Toe

Heal and Toe

A true "Heel and Toe". Naturally it goes without saying that this does not really involve your heel and toe! The name is just to make it harder to understand! (Actually it stems from a rather odd set up in the old Ferraris where the clutch and the brake pedals were switched-but that's another matter.) The technique involves combining the double clutch method with a second technique that keeps the engine RPM at a level to match the next gear to be engaged.